Free Range Human

Life Outside The Box

It’s Never Too Early

20 Comments

Happy Monday!  I hope that extra hour made getting up this morning a little easier.  Between that and the fact that John and I were asleep by 8:30 last night, I felt full of energy when the alarm went off this morning!  I love this time of year.  I am one of those rare people who doesn’t mind the extra darkness.  Mostly because it gives me an excuse to go lay in my bed by 7:00 every night 😉  Yes, I am internally 75 years old!

I’m so glad you guys enjoyed the pictures from our hike.  I can’t stress enough how beautiful the colors were this weekend.  It really made my desire to be out on the trail 98% of the time go through the roof!  We’re planning on doing our much anticipated backpacking trip this weekend.  There is a small chance for rain so everyone keep your fingers crossed that it doesn’t cancel our plans for the third time!  I haven’t been backpacking since I started this blog, and I’m itching to show you what it’s all about.

I’m actually really glad it’s Monday because it’s been two weeks since I’ve participated in Friend Makin’ Monday!  I love these informal surveys that allow me to tell you all a little about me and the tidbits I learn about you in the comment section.  Please go check out Kenlee’s blog and find a few more new friends today 🙂

Instead of ten questions, the theme of today’s Friend Makin’ Monday is Thankfulness.  In honor of the start of Thanksgiving month, I’m going to list ten things that I’m thankful for.  Even though Thanksgiving is a few weeks away, I hope this reminds everyone that being thankful is something we should remember to be all year long.

1.  There is nothing in this life I’m more thankful for than my husband.  Even though I don’t necessary believe in “meant to be” or fate, I do believe that there is not a person on the planet that would make a better match for me.  You know I don’t like being overly emotional so let’s just say that this is something I never forget to be thankful for.

2.  Of course my family runs a close second on this list.  I come from a very close-knit family, and they are, quite simply, the best people I know.  One of the reasons why it’s hard for me to make friends is because I’d rather hang out with them than just about anyone.  I struggle with living away from them because I truly don’t feel quite right unless they’re around!

3.  This is going to sound silly and cliche, but I am so grateful for the beautiful world we live in.  The hike this weekend is just one of many opportunities I’ve had to be out in nature, but I’m amazed each time by the joy it evokes in me.

4.  On a similar note, I’m thankful for a strong body that allows me to do what I love.  I am brutal to it at times, and I often don’t talk about it very nicely but it continues to perform in ways I never thought possible.

5.  I am thankful that I worry about the scale being too high even if it is just 3 or 4 pounds.  It means that I am safe, taken care of, and have plenty to eat.  So many people are not so fortunate.

6.  My parents always made travel a priority, and, although I often took it for granted, it’s something I have thanked them for many times since I’ve become an adult.  Travel has allowed me to broaden my worldview, and make me the person I am.  Never underestimate the power of getting out of your bubble and experiencing the world!

7.  On a related note, I’m thankful that John and I have the ability to travel.  It’s something we both love, and something we’ve committed to making a priority in our marriage.  In the three years we’ve been married, we’ve already had the opportunity to travel to Washington D.C., Vail, Bryce Canyon National Park, Zion National Park, the Grand Canyon, Memphis, Colorado several times, and Glacier National Park.  We’ve already got big plans for 2013 as well!

8.  I am thankful that this little face is a part of my life everyday.  He makes me laugh about twenty times more a day than I would otherwise!

9.  Blogging!  This endeavor as been a wonderful creative outlet for me, and it’s beginning to open doors that I wouldn’t have imagined.  I can’t wait to see where it takes me, but, mostly, I am thankful for the new friends it has given me.  You guys make me smile everyday, and have filled a little something that was missing!

10.  I am so thankful that I live in a country where what I think matters.  As an American, I have a voice and a vote, and I am ever mindful that it is not a right everyone in the world enjoys.

On that note, John and I are off to get in line for early voting!  Have a great evening everyone!

What are you most thankful for today?

20 thoughts on “It’s Never Too Early

  1. Your list could totally be my list, Natalie! (Especially the part about the 7 p.m. bedtime … let’s be real. ;)) I come from a very close-knit family, too, and we always have a blast together. I have a few friends who are definitely like family, and I’d much rather have three best friends than 10 acquaintances. Plus, I’m not a good acquaintance-er or fair-weather friend. And you’re so right about the blogging world! It’s been such a great experience so far, and I love getting to know everyone. 🙂

    • I’m so glad I’m not the only one who loves that early bedtime! My family makes so much fun of me for it, but I just love it 🙂 I totally get what your saying about acquaintances. I’ve just never operated that way. I find that trying to maintain a bunch of relationships that are just on the surface is too much work to maintain.

  2. Now THIS is the Nat I know and love!!! Glad to have you back, friend!! Thank you for that excellent spin on the scale — something that I very rarely remind myself, and something I feel incredibly guilty about forgetting every time I do remember.
    Every time I hear an election update, I think of you!! 😉
    Is it weird that I not only think, but am going to openly comment on the fact that I think your nose might very well be the most adorable nose I’ve ever seen. Ever, ever! Ever!!

  3. Nice top 10! We do have so much to be thankful for, and I’m pretty sure my list is the exact same!
    Today, I’m thankful for my pup (and husband) who made me smile and laugh after a tough day.

  4. this list is so heart warming. I agree on many fronts, blogging has made me really open up to myself and to others. I don’t know where i would be without family as well. I am with you, I enjoy the lighter mornings and darker nights. if i could, my bedtime would be 830 no doubt.

  5. We have some of the same items on our lists! Stopping by for FMM today. 🙂

  6. Love this, Natalie. You have such a cool perspective on life. I love that you listed that you are grateful for nature. So many people overlook it! But as someone who is non-religious, I find the most solace in the outdoors. It’s my “church.” Just marveling at all the beautiful scenery that belongs to all of us here on earth…it’s amazing. And it’s just waiting for us to go discover it, existing all by itself! I can’t believe how many people refuse to step foot outside of cities and see all that the earth has to offer us, if you only put in just the smallest effort. *end hippie rant*

    I’m also internally 75, and eternally, a tree-hugging hippie.

    And lastly, I appreciate any post that works your dog’s cute face into it.

    • I’ll try to get him on the blog more often 🙂 Don’t ever worry about *hippie rants* with me-I feel the same way! We are a lot a like. I so understand what you mean about it being your church. I say all the time that I feel closer to God out on the trail than I ever do in church.

  7. I need to make traveling more of a priority — my parents took us to so many places, and I want to keep it up! I’m definitely thankful for my family and my pup 🙂

  8. Is that MooseJaw flag? How did I not notice that before!?! Love MJ! I was the first one in my precinct to vote this morning. I was proud. Lol. I wasn’t he first in line by any means, but the a-k line went fast, an I had already studied the ballot at home. Haha.

  9. Such a great tribute to the things that matter in life! I’m with you in all of them….including going to bed ridiculously early!

  10. I happen to stumble your blog. I love this post..

    I can relate with you about family. When they are around, life is always great and beautiful.

    It is really nice to take a break and be thankful.

Leave a comment